Announcements

  • Chess Club is full - No new permission slips will be accepted at this time.

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
  • Art Club is full for the 2021-2022 school year !

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
View More Posts

GFMS Clubs & Activities 2021-2022

The Clubs and Intramurals listed below are active clubs if you see 21-22 and an advisor listed.  Contact Advisors/Coaches via email with questions.

 

ART CLUB IS FULL NO MORE MEMBERS - 21-22 Art Club – Grades 5-8.  This club is for those who would like to enjoy some additional time exploring artistic opportunities in the art room.  Members will be able to pursue self-directed projects in the medium of their choice, put in additional time on art classroom assignments, and become involved in collaborative ventures with other club members.  Individualized instruction and support will be readily available.  Students are encouraged to share ideas and enjoy immersing themselves in artistic endeavors in the company of their fellow art enthusiasts.  Students may sign up for one quarter of Art Club.  2021-2022 Art Club meets on ___ after school. Limit of 24 students per quarter.  Sign up is first come/ first enrolled.  Advisor: Mr. Dan Viera-  dviera2@carmelschools.org

Book Club – Grades 5-8 Interested in discussing short stories, poems, and books?  The book club will meet in room 266.  Share in the entertaining world of reading!" Advisor: 

CHESS CLUB IS FULL - NO NEW MEMBERS AT THIS TIME -21-22 Chess Club –Grades 5-7.  This club meets weekly.  The club includes chess strategy instruction and in- school tournaments.  Beginners are welcome.  Club has a cap of 20 students. Advisor:  Joanna Sweeney- jsweeney@carmelschools.org

Dignity Club – Grades 5-8.  This club provides a time and place to help students  support cultural competencies, gender awareness/differences, human rights and world peace.  It will help to teach our students ways to support others in all things.  Activities include but are not limited to: discussions of issues important to students, collaborative mural making, posted design, poetry writing, awareness events, fund raisers/charity events.  Meets weekly on ____.  Advisor:  

21-22 Drama Club – Grades 6-8.  This club is for those who want to let their inner actor out and work with a variety of people.  Students perform in one show each year.  Meetings range from once a week to five times a week once the play and cast has been selected.  Advisors: Joann Monroe jmonroe@carmelschools.org and Dennis Savage dsavage@carmelschools.org

Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) – Grades 5-8.  The GFMS chapter of FBLA serves as an important stepping stone for participating in the high school’s chapter of this national, state and local organization.  Members are active in school and community partnerships that exemplify the club’s overall mission of community service; educating themselves and others; and promoting progressive ideas through professional connections.  Students learn best business practices and participate in charitable fundraising activities. Advisor:

21-22 General Organization (GO) – Grades 5-8.  GO is the student government that represents the GFMS student body. Officers include a President, VP, Secretary and Treasurer as well as student representatives from each homeroom.  The GO is involved in community service projects such as food and clothing collections.  They plan school activities such as dances and keep students informed.  The GO meets ______________ of every month.  Advisors: Felicia DiLeo- fdileo@carmelschools.org and Cynthia Tully- ctully@carmelschools.org

Go Green Environmental Club – Grades 5-8.  The Go Green Club’s primary function is to run the recycling program at GFMS.  The club meets on ____ after school to collect, bag, and remove the school’s recyclable waste to our outdoor collection site.  The club also gets involved in special projects within the school and in the community to support and promote environmental efforts.  Advisor: 

21-22 Lego Robotics Club – Grades 6-8. Students design and build an autonomous programmable Lego robotic vehicle to perform tasks in an annual regional contest at Dutchess Community College.  Per the rules of the tournament, the team consists of only 10 students.  See www.usfirst.org for more information.  The middle school competition is called First Lego League (FLL). Advisor:  Mr. Sottile asottile@carmelschools.org

21-22 Math Counts - Grades 6-8.  A National enrichment, coaching and competition program that promotes middle school mathematics achievement.  The club meets bi-weekly and will focus on competition.  The club is geared for 7th and 8th graders.  Sixth graders are welcome to attend but the content may be difficult.  Advisor: Stacy Molison -smolison@carmelschools.org

21-22 National Junior Honor Society - Advisor Lori Vandemark-lvandema@carmelschools.org

21-22 Peer Leaders – Grade 8. Students serve as good role models for incoming 5th graders.  In September Peer Leaders assist with 5th grade orientation.  In addition, they attend Back-to-School Nights as well as Curriculum Nights to assist parents.  They also help at other various events throughout the school year.  These students are hard-working, conscientious and dedicated to their school community.  Students are chosen by an application process that begins at the end of their 7th grade year. Advisor:  Advisor Lori Vandemark-lvandema@carmelschools.org

21-22 Safe School Ambassadors – This group of students is trained through the Community Matters Program.  Students are nominated for this group by their faculty and peers.  This is not an open enrollment activity.  Approx. 60 students will participate in Family Groups with faculty, bi-weekly.  Student and school goals are to help create and maintain a positive, safe, and uplifting school environment. Coordinator: Stacy Molison - smolison@carmelschools.org  Advisors: Joann Monroe-jmonroe@carmelschools.org, Dana Schwark-dschwark@carmelschools.org, Lori Vandemark-lvandema@carmelschools.org,Denise Scaperotti dscapero@carmelschools.org

21-22 Science & Technology Fair – Grades 5-8.  The Science & Technology fair is a great event.  It takes place on Saturday _________________ and is open to all GFMS students.  Projects can be entered in the categories of biology, physical science, technology, math and earth science.  Awards are given to the first, second and third place winners from each category.  Advisors: Sara Schmidt-sschmidt@carmelschools.org, Joanna Sweeney jsweeney@carmelschools.org

21-22 Spotlight – Grades 5-8.  This club meets after school on Mondays to read and critique poems, short stories and art work to be published in the GFMS Spotlight Literary and Art Magazine.  Spotlight Literary and Art Magazine showcases original pieces.  The members work together to produce this memorable magazine.  Advisor:  Sarah Bell - sbell1@carmelschools.org

21-22 Yearbook – Grades 6-8.  The yearbook is a publication of middle school memories.  Meetings are held each Thursday.  The yearbook staff works on photography, keyboarding, layouts and selling ad and booster space.  Students learn how to design a yearbook page.  Advisors:  Karen Nagel knagel@carmelschools.org and Fran Russo frusso@carmelschools.org

 

Musical Groups

21-22 Jazz Band – is open to students in Grades 7-8.  In addition to traditional band instruments; piano, guitar and bass are also included.  This club provides an opportunity for interested students to learn and perform jazz, rock, blues, and other forms of popular music in an instrumental setting.  The group meets on Mondays over zoom.  Performance opportunities are to be determined at this time.   Advisors:  Eric Pecor epecor@carmelschools.org and Aimee Brainard abrainar@carmelschools.org

21-22 Small Chamber Ensemble -Clarinet Choir: open to all 6th through 8th grade clarinet players. In previous years performances for the HS pops concert as well as an extra-curricular concert are included as part of clarinet choir. Meets weekly on Monday’s through Teams after school. Great opportunity to meet with multiple grade levels and get more playing opportunities. Advisor:  Mr. Griffith dgriffit@carmelschools.org and Erika Wahlers-ewahlers@carmelschools.org

21-22 Select Strings – Grades 7-8.  Select strings is open to 7th & 8th grade students who play violin, viola, cello, bass, or piano. This ensemble provides students the opportunity to play and record alternative music styles such as pop, rock, bluegrass, and jazz, with the possibility of improvisation and solo playing. Select strings will be meeting remotely via Zoom on Mondays at 3:30pm. Co-Advisors: Erin Minieri eminieri@carmelschools.org  & Buddy Griffith dgriffit@carmelschools.org

21-22 Rock Ensemble – Grades 7-8. This club provides an opportunity for 7th and 8th students to learn, perform, and record popular music from many different decades. Rock Ensemble is an auditioned group including approximately 16 singers, 2-3 guitarists, 1-2 bass guitarists, 1-2 keyboard/piano players, and 1-2 students who play drum set. Auditions take place mid to late September. This group meets remotely via Zoom on Tuesdays at 3:30pm.  Co-Advisors: Buddy Griffith dgriffit@carmelschools.org   & Aja Broderson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sports Intramurals and Modified Sports 2021-2022

For questions and information on Fall  2021 Intramural Sports ( grades 5-8) please contact the coach for the sport. 

Tennis - coach Mr. Coughlin - mcoughli@carmelschools.org

Wrestling- coach Mr. Robin -drobin@carmelschools.org

GFMS office will announce any cancellations if information is sent by coaches.

 

For questions and information on Fall 2021 Modified Sports ( grades 7-8) please contact the Coach for the sport or Carmel High School athletic department.

Girls Soccer - Heather Murphy hmurphy@carmelschools.org

Boys Soccer - Joey Raniolo jraniolo@carmelschools.org

Field Hockey - Jessica Talreja  jtalreja@carmelschools.org

Girls Cross Country  - Dana Schwark dschwark@carmelschools.org

Boys Cross Country - Jamie Cargain  hjrunner3@gmail

Girls Tennis - Jodi Brodsky jbrodsky@carmelschools.org

Girls Volleyball Jorma Tompuri  jjt1022@hotmail.com

GFMS office will announce any cancellations if information is sent by coaches. 

GFMS Clubs & Activities Calendar

  • Band Room

    Clarinet Choir 2:35 PM

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
  • Drama -Full Cast until 3:20

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
  • Tech Room

    Robotic 2:35

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
View Monthly Calendar