Announcements

View More Posts

Please contact Club Advisors for specific questions.  If there is no advisor listed, the club is not running this year.  When posted you will find Advisor contact information on the Club permission slip and club description online.  Administrator for Clubs & Activities- Ms. Allie Golan.  Contact at GFMS:  845-228-2300  ext. 507 Ms. Lauren Muscenti lmuscent@carmelschools.org

 

 

 

GFMS runs many Clubs and Activities  with the goal of meeting  many children's interests.   When clubs start please contact the Club Advisor for information.

 

STUDENTS PLEASE LISTEN TO MORNING ANNOUNCEMENTS

 Contact Advisors/Coaches via email with questions.

ART CLUB -  Grades 5-8.  This club is for those who would like to enjoy some additional time exploring artistic opportunities in the art room.  Members will be able to pursue self-directed projects in the medium of their choice, put in additional time on art classroom assignments, and become involved in collaborative ventures with other club members.  Individualized instruction and support will be readily available.  Students are encouraged to share ideas and enjoy immersing themselves in artistic endeavors in the company of their fellow art enthusiasts.  Students may sign up for one quarter of Art Club.  2022-2023 Art Club meets after school. Limit of 24 students per quarter.  Sign up is first come/ first enrolled.  Advisor: Mr. Dan Viera-  dviera2@carmelschools.org

CHESS CLUB – Grades 5-8.  This club meets weekly.  The club includes chess strategy instruction and in- school tournaments.  Beginners are welcome.  Club has a cap of 20 students. Advisor:  Joanna Sweeney- jsweeney@carmelschools.org

Dignity Club – Grades 5-8 -Dignity Club, serves as a safe space for all students. It is a place in which students and staff support one another through dialogue, initiatives, and projects. Dignity club meets  after school (day TBD) and alternates between rooms 271 and 234. Advisor: Suzanne Ascanio  sascanio@carmelschools.org 

Drama Club – Grades 6-8This club is for those who want to let their inner actor out and work with a variety of people.  Students perform in one show each year.  Meetings range from once a week to five times a week once the play and cast has been selected.  Advisors:

Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) – -Grades 5-8.  The GFMS chapter of FBLA serves as an important stepping stone for participating in the high school’s chapter of this national, state and local organization.  Members are active in school and community partnerships that exemplify the club’s overall mission of community service; educating themselves and others; and promoting progressive ideas through professional connections.  Students learn best business practices and participate in charitable fundraising activities. Advisor: Jeff Diamonde - jdiamond@carmelschools.org

General Organization (GO) – Grades 5-8.  GO is the student government that represents the GFMS student body. Officers include a President, VP, Secretary and Treasurer as well as student representatives from each homeroom.  The GO is involved in community service projects such as food and clothing collections.  They plan school activities such as dances and keep students informed.  Advisors: Felicia DiLeo- fdileo@carmelschools.org and Cynthia Tully- ctully1@carmelschools.org

TBD Go Green Environmental Club – Grades 5-8.  The Go Green Club’s primary function is to run the recycling program at GFMS.  The club meets on ____ after school to collect, bag, and remove the school’s recyclable waste to our outdoor collection site.  The club also gets involved in special projects within the school and in the community to support and promote environmental efforts.  Advisor: 

Robotics Club – Grades 6-8. Students design and build an autonomous programmable Lego robotic vehicle to perform tasks in an annual regional contest at Dutchess Community College.  Per the rules of the tournament, the team consists of only 10 students.  See www.usfirst.org for more information.  The middle school competition is called First Lego League (FLL). Advisor:  Mr. Sottile asottile@carmelschools.org

Math Counts - Grades 6-8.  A National enrichment, coaching and competition program that promotes middle school mathematics achievement.  The club meets bi-weekly and will focus on competition.  The club is geared for 7th and 8th graders.  Sixth graders are welcome to attend but the content may be difficult.  Advisor: Stacy Molison - smolison@carmelschools.org

National Junior Honor Society - Advisor Lori Vandemark - lvandema@carmelschools.org

Peer Leaders – Grades 7 & 8. Students serve as good role models for incoming 5th graders.  In September Peer Leaders assist with 5th grade orientation.  In addition, they attend Back-to-School Nights as well as Curriculum Nights to assist parents.  They also help at other various events throughout the school year.  These students are hard-working, conscientious and dedicated to their school community.  Students are chosen by an application process that begins at the end of their 6th grade year. Advisor:  Denise Scaperotti dscapero@carmelschools.org

Safe School Ambassadors – This group of students is trained through the Community Matters Program.  Students are nominated for this group by their faculty and peers.  This is not an open enrollment activity.  Approx. 60 students will participate in Family Groups with faculty, bi-weekly.  Student and school goals are to help create and maintain a positive, safe, and uplifting school environment. Coordinator: Stacy Molison - smolison@carmelschools.org  Advisors: Joann Monroe jmonroe@carmelschools.org, Dana Schwark dschwark@carmelschools.org, Lori Vandemark lvandema@carmelschools.org,Denise Scaperotti dscapero@carmelschools.org

TBD Science & Technology Fair – Grades 5-8.  The Science & Technology fair is a great event.  It takes place on Saturday _________________ and is open to all GFMS students.  Projects can be entered in the categories of biology, physical science, technology, math and earth science.  Awards are given to the first, second and third place winners from each category.  Advisors: 

Spotlight – Grades 5-8.  This club meets after school to read and critique poems, short stories and art work to be published in the GFMS Spotlight Literary and Art Magazine.  Spotlight Literary and Art Magazine showcases original pieces.  The members work together to produce this memorable magazine.  Advisors:  Sarah Bell - sbell1@carmelschools.org and Jeff Diamonde - jdiamond@carmelschools.org

Yearbook – Grades 5-8.  The yearbook is a publication of middle school memories.  Meetings are held Wednesdays.  The yearbook staff works on photography, keyboarding, layouts and selling ad and booster space.  Students learn how to design a yearbook page.  Advisors:  Karen Nagel knagel@carmelschools.org and Fran Russo frusso@carmelschools.org

 

Musical Groups

Jazz Band – is open to students in Grades 7-8.  In addition to traditional band instruments; piano, guitar and bass are also included.  This club provides an opportunity for interested students to learn and perform jazz, rock, blues, and other forms of popular music in an instrumental setting.  The group meets on Mondays.  Performance opportunities are to be determined at this time.   Advisors:  Eric Pecor epecor@carmelschools.org and Aimee Brainard abrainar@carmelschools.org

22-23 Small Chamber Ensemble -Clarinet Choir: open to all 6th through 8th grade clarinet players. In previous years performances for the HS pops concert as well as an extra-curricular concert are included as part of clarinet choir. Meets weekly on Monday’s. Great opportunity to meet with multiple grade levels and get more playing opportunities. Advisor:  Erika Wahlers - ewahlers@carmelschools.org and Meghan Cabral mcabral@carmelschools.org

22-23 Select Strings – Grades 7-8.  Select strings is open to 7th & 8th grade students who play violin, viola, cello, bass, or piano. This ensemble provides students the opportunity to play and record alternative music styles such as pop, rock, bluegrass, and jazz, with the possibility of improvisation and solo playing. Select strings will be meeting until 3:20pm. Co-Advisors: Erin Minieri eminieri@carmelschools.org  & Buddy Griffith dgriffit@carmelschools.org

22-23 Rock Ensemble – Grades 7-8. This club provides an opportunity for 7th and 8th students to learn, perform, and record popular music from many different decades. Rock Ensemble is an auditioned group including approximately 16 singers, 2-3 guitarists, 1-2 bass guitarists, 1-2 keyboard/piano players, and 1-2 students who play drum set. Auditions take place mid to late September. This group meets after school until 4:00PM. Students must have a ride home as there is no late bus at 4.  Co-Advisors: Buddy Griffith dgriffit@carmelschools.org   & Aja Broderson

Sports Intramurals and Modified Sports 2022-2023

For questions and information on Fall 2022-2023  Modified Sports ( grades 7-8) please contact the Coach for the sport or Carmel High School Athletic Department.

Wrestling Intramurals - Dave Robin - drobin@carmelschools.org

Boys Modified Football - Joseph Garbowski  - Dave Robin -  jgarbows@carmelschools.org , drobin@carmelschools.org

Modified Girls' Tennis - Jodi Brodsky - jbrodsky@carmelschools.org

Modified Girls' Cross Country - Katherine McCormack - kmccorma@carmelschools.org

Modified Boys' Cross Country - Jamie Cargain - jcargain@carmelschools.org

Modified Field Hockey - Jessica Talreja - jtalreja@carmelschools.org

Modified Girls' Soccer - Heather Murphy - hmurphy@carmelschools.org

Modified Boys' Soccer - Joseph Raniolo - jraniolo@carmelschools.org

Modified Cheer Head Coach - Rochelle Lhotan - rlhotan@carmelschools.org

Modified Wrestling Head Coach - Dave Robin - drobin@carmelschools.org

Modified Wrestling - Dave Robin - drobin@carmelschools.org

Modified Volleyball - Marisa Tambini - marissatambini01@gmail.com

GFMS office will announce any cancellations if information is sent by coaches. 

 

 

 

GFMS Clubs & Activities Calendar

  • Band Room

    Clarinet Choir

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
  • Orchestra Room

    Select String

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
  • Band Room

    JazzBand

    GFMS Clubs & Activities
View Monthly Calendar

Year Book Club Calendar

 

For information contact:

Fran Russo - frusso@carmelschools.org

    Karen Nagel - knagel@carmelschools.org